#sevenwonders #newsevenwonders #travel

There are many amazing sites, monuments and constructions in the world that really are awe-inspiring. But how did seven of these become the Seven Wonders Of The World, and who made the decision to select them? Here is the answer to that question- The Greek writer Antipater of Sidon, compiled a list of the seven most impressive constructions known to man. These are the original seven wonders of the ancient world and the list was based upon what was popular among sightseers in those days.

Number 7 was chosen because it is believed to represent perfection, prosperity and thereby considered lucky by the Greeks. Do you want to visit the Original Seven Wonders? Unfortunately you can’t, because only one of them exists now, and that is “the Great Pyramid of Giza” which is given an honorary status as a wonder of the world irrespective of what people choose or not choose. This has led to the creation of the Seven Wonders Of The Modern World. In 2000 a Swiss foundation launched a campaign to determine the New Seven Wonders of the World. And people around the world apparently agreed, as more than 100 million votes were cast on the Internet or by text messaging. And finally, the results were announced in 2007.

The Following are the new seven wonders of the world

  • Great Pyramid of Giza
    Location: Greater Cairo, Egypt, Africa
  • Machu Picchu
    Location: Cuzco Region, Peru, South America
  • The Khaznah, PETRA
    Location: Maan, Jordan, Asia
  • Taj Mahal
    Location: Agra, Uttar Pradesh, India, Asia
  • Chichen Itza
    Location: Yucatan, Mexico, North America
  • Christ the Redeemer
    Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, South America
  • Colosseum
    Location: Rome, Italy, Europe
  • Great wall of China
    Location: Northern China, Asia

Here we have a video that brings to you some interesting facts about the new seven wonders of the modern world.